Third Deconstruction Board

For the Third Deconstruction Board I looked to an image of an installation of metallic cylinders hanging from a ceiling.  The shadows in the undulating mass appealed to me. undulating canopyI first covered the board in contact paper then cut around the circles and ovals I drew on with a sharpie. After removing the tape between the circles I painted a wash of Paynes Grey and blue onto the board.undulating canopyDeconstruction Board III step 1

third deconstruction board

third deconstruction board

The watercolor flowed underneath the contact paper and made an interesting design on the board.I picked out the design with paint pens, colored pencil, and fine-lined ink markers. The image began to take on an appearance of fabric. In the end, the detail of the fine lines in the design hearken back to Daniel Zeller’s images with a decorative edge. The final result reminds me of a Gustav Klimt landscape.IMG_0598

